J.J. Abrams to receive filmmaker of the year award

Filmmaker J.J. Abrams will receive the ACE Golden Eddie Filmmaker of the Year Award from American Cinema Editors at the organisations 67th annual ACE Eddie Awards ceremony.

The event will take place on January 27 next year at the Beverly Hilton hotel here, reports variety.com.

Abrams last directed the 2015 epic space opera film “Star Wars: The Force Awakens”.

“J.J. Abrams is a once-in-a-generation artist who has been making his mark in cinema and television for over 20 years,” said the ACE board of directors in a statement.

“Through his production company, Bad Robot, Abrams has engaged and delighted audiences around the world with his innovative brand of storytelling,” the statement read.

Previous Golden Eddie honourees include Frank Marshall, Steven Spielberg, Quentin Tarantino, Norman Jewison, Alexander Payne, James Cameron, Nancy Meyers, Clint Eastwood, George Lucas, Francis Ford Coppola, Kathleen Kennedy, Christopher Nolan, Martin Scorsese, Saul Zaentz, Paul Greengrass, and Stanley Donen.

ACE, the entertainment industry’s honorary society of film editors, comprises of over 850 editors working in film and television.


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.