Rabindra Bharati to honour Amol Palekar with D Litt

Veteran actor-filmmaker Amol Palekar will be conferred an honorary D Litt along with eminent Bengali singer Nirmala Mishra and author Sirshendu Mukhopadhyay by Rabindra Bharati University, its Vice Chancellor Sabyasachi Basu Ray Chaudhury said on Wednesday.

The stalwarts will be honoured at the varsity’s 42nd Annual Convocation on May 8, he said.

The West Bengal State Akademi of Dance Drama Music and Visual Arts awards will be bestowed on danseuse K. Jatindra Singh, noted theatre personality Ashok Mukhopadhyay and celebrated painter Isha Mahammad.

Ray Chaudhury added that the Acharya Dinesh Chandra Sen Memorial Award in folklore research will be conferred on Sabita Ranjan Sarkar.

Governor K.N. Tripathi, who is Chancellor of the University will preside over the convocation.

Eminent scientist V.S. Chauhan, who is the NAAC Chairman, and UGC Member, will be the chief guest and also deliver the convocation address.

Seventy scholars will be awarded their Ph.D. degrees, and 50 scholars will be receiving their M.Phil. degrees at the convocation.


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.